IPL Franchise going global: List of the IPL Teams who have expanded their reach across the globe

Last updated on July 24th, 2023 at 08:49 pm

Indian Premier League (IPL) Franchises are going global after seeing the success of League cricket all over the World. The Popularity of League cricket is increasing day by day, and the formation of new leagues in every part of the World is happening. IPL Teams are going international to increase their presence in all major cricket Leagues.

Kolkata Knight Riders became the first Franchise of IPL to go global in 2013 after buying an IPL team in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL). KKR owns Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) from the Inaugural season of CPL.

Trinbago Knight Riders won four CPL Titles and became the most successful team in CPL. KKR’s investment in CPL was a multi-bagger for them. After that, they entered Dubai T10 League and Major League Cricket (MLC). Now KKR owns five League teams all around the World.

IPL Franchises like KKR, MI, CSK, RR, and DC have gone global after buying teams in all major cricket Leagues like CPL, SA20, Dubai T10, and MLC. 

IPL Teams Across the Globe:

Mumbai Indians Franchise:

  1. Mumbai Indian, IPL
  2. MI Women, WPL
  3. MI Cape Town, SA20
  4. MI Emirates, Dubai T10
  5. MI New York, MLC

Chennai Super Kings Franchise:

  1. Chennai Super Kings, IPL
  2. JO’Burg Super Kings, SA20
  3. Texas Super Kings, MLC

You May Like This: Asia Cup 2023 India Squad, Match List, Playing11, Captain, Venue List (Tentative)

Kolkata Knight Riders Franchise:

  1. Kolkata Knight Riders, IPL
  2. Abu Dhabi Knight Riders, D10
  3. Trinbago Knight Riders, CPL
  4. Trinbago Knight Riders, WCPL
  5. Los Angels Knight Riders, MLC

Delhi Capitals Franchise:

  1. Delhi Capitals, IPL
  2. DC Women, WPL
  3. Dubai Capitals, D10
  4. Pretoria Capitals, SA20
  5. Seattle Orcas, MLC

Rajasthan Royals Franchise:

  1. Rajasthan Royals, IPL
  2. Paarl Royals, SA20
  3. Barbados Royals, CPL
  4. Barbados Royals, WCPL

Lucknow Super Giants Franchise:

  1. Lucknow Super Giants, IPL
  2. Durban’s Super Giants, SA20

Sunrisers Hyderabad Franchise:

  1. Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL
  2. Sunrisers Eastern Cape, SA20

Punjab Kings Franchise:

  1. Punjab Kings, IPL
  2. ST. Lucia Kings, CPL

Players and boards of England, West Indies, South Africa, and Australia are happy with League because League cricket provides an opportunity to earn more money. Some players Like Jason Roy are considering playing for Franchise for a whole year in different Leagues, which gives them more reading opportunities than playing for national and domestic teams.

You May Like This: ICC World Cup 2023 Schedule, Team, Venue | World Cup 2023 Schedule PDF, Fixture, Points Table, Format, Stadium