IND vs WI 2023: India T20 Schedule, Squad for West Indies Tour

Last updated on July 24th, 2023 at 12:04 am

On 6 June 2023, BCCI announced the Indian Team Squad for the T20I series against West Indies. The T20I series was scheduled in the West Indies from 3 August to 13 August 2023. India will play five T20I matches against West Indies, including 3 ODI and 2 Test matches. 

Hardik Pandya will lead the young Indian team for the West Indies Tour in the T20I series, While Suryakumar Yadav will play the role of Vice Captain. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are rested for the T20I series due to Asia Cup 2023. Asia Cup 2023 was scheduled from 31 August to 19 September 2023 in Sri Lanka and Pakistan. 

Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Umran Malik, and Arshdeep Singh made a comeback in the National Team. In the absence of key players, India’s bench players got a chance to play for the national team. Wicketkeeper Batsman Sanju Samson got a chance to play for India after struggling to secure his position in the India Team in the presence of Kohli, Iyer, Rahul, and Rohit. 

BCCI’s new selector Ajit Agarkar gave chances to youngsters for the T20I series. Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, and Mukesh Kumar will debut. India will play the T20 series with a new and young team. The BCCI took the decision after confirmation of the Asian Games’ participation of India in the Cricket Event in China in 2023. 

BCCI rested Rohit and Kohli for the T20I series:

Captain Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are rested for the T20I series against West Indies due to the busy schedules of the team in August. India will play the Asia Cup and ODI series against Ireland in August.

The BCCI decided to give some rest to all format players after completing the ODI series. This year India will participate in the Asian Games 2023 in China in September. The BCCI wants to prepare a new team for the Asian Games, so they decide to give chances to new players in the national team.

India Squad for T20 series against West Indies:

Hardik Pandya (C), Surya Kumar Yadav (Vc), Ishan Kishan (Wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (Wk), Tilak Varma, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan.

India vs West Indies T20 Schedule: 

Aug 308:00 PMWI vs IND 1st T20IQueen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Aug 608:00 PMWI vs IND 2nd T20IProvidence Stadium, Guyana, Providence
Aug 808:00 PMWI vs IND 3rd T20IProvidence Stadium, Guyana, Providence
Aug 1208:00 PMWI vs IND 4th T20ICentral Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground
Aug 1308:00 PMWI vs IND 5th T20ICentral Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground

You May Like This: ICC World Cup 2023 All qualified teams list, Super League Points Table, ICC CWC Qualifiers Super Six Points Table

For More Details, Check Official Site: ICC